Start typing to see products you are looking for.
  • Menu
  • Collections

Shopping cart

Start typing to see products you are looking for.

Diamond Guide

Diamond Guide

Diamond and gemstone certification

 Apart from knowing your gold, you should also be informed about the type of diamond and gemstones. Diamonds and gemstones are certified by international bodies such as GIA, IGI and SGL. At Khimji Jewellers, we ensure that we make use of IGI certified diamonds and gemstone jewellery. State-of-art equipment are used to evaluate the jewellery. 

Diamond Carat 

A remarkable gift of Mother Nature, diamonds represent beauty, and brilliance like nothing else. Their sparkle, shine, and allure are hard to resist. When buying a diamond, it is likely that these are the very qualities that attract your attention. But there is a lot more to buying diamonds than just blindly giving in to their gorgeous appearance. While cut, clarity, and colour are important parameters to select a diamond, there’s another vital aspect to consider as well. 

It is the carat! 

These four factors are known as the 4Cs of a diamond. Experienced diamond buyers know that the carat weight can be the game changer, as far as the worth of a diamond is concerned. It’s something that you must not overlook when you buy a diamond. So, here’s everything you need to know about the carat weight of diamonds to help you make an informed decision. 

What is the Clarity of a Diamond? 

As you know, diamonds are made of carbon. In fact, they are the most concentrated form of carbon available to us. Natural diamonds take millions of years to form. They face extreme heat and pressure in the earth’s mantle. Most of such naturally occurring diamonds have flaws or imperfections. These flaws include different amounts of scars and inclusions on the surface of a diamond, which are called blemishes. Inclusions are internal features trapped in it during its formation. Very rarely do diamonds appear in a perfect and ideal condition. And therefore, they are very expensive as well. The scars or inclusions on diamonds are nature’s birthmarks. They are the features that make these gemstones unique. 

So, what do these blemishes and inclusions have to do with the clarity of a diamond? To put it simply, a diamond’s clarity refers to how clean it is. It is the metric used to grade the visual appearance of a diamond. 

Understanding the Diamond Clarity Chart 

Gemmologists grade the results of the analysis on a diamond clarity chart. The different grades on this chart and their features are as follows: 

FL and IF – Flawless, Internally Flawless 

As the name suggests, diamonds with these grades are flawless. The 10x magnification doesn’t show any internal inclusions when you view a diamond with this clarity. However, such diamonds may or may not have surface flaws or blemishes. 

VVS1 and VVS2 – Very Very Slightly Included 

This grading means there are only some inclusions that are hard to see even with 10x magnification. Inclusions in the VVS1 gems are visible from the bottom-up view while that of VVS2 are visible in the face-up view. 

VS1 and VS2 – Very Slightly Included 

When small inclusions, such as crystals of other elements, show up in diamonds under the 10x magnification, they get this clarity grading. You need to look very hard to find these imperfections. Of VS1 and VS2, the former has a high clarity grade than the latter. 

SI1, SI2, and SI3 – Slightly Included 

Diamond with a presence of clear inclusions under magnification feature this low on the clarity chart. 

I1, I2, and I3 – Included 

These diamonds contain obvious inclusions. You can see the inclusions in these diamonds with 10x magnification and often with the naked eye. Such diamonds tend to have low transparency and usually lack brilliance. 

How Does a Diamond’s Colour Impact Its Value? 

Colour is one of the 4Cs that impact a diamond’s appearance as well as value. When light hits a diamond’s facets, some of the rays get scattered into a rainbow of colours. They then reflect off the stone’s interior facets and bounce back to our eyes in flashes of colour. This is known as the fire of a diamond. If a diamond crystal has observable colour in it, its ability to reflect light decreases in comparison to a colourless diamond. So, fire and sparkle both suffer. As such, the value of the diamond also decreases. That is why people prefer colourless diamonds. 

Colourless Diamonds (D, E, F): 

 D is the highest colour grade for a diamond. Stones belonging to this colour grade are almost colourless and icy white. E and F colour graded diamonds have very slight traces of colour in them that remain undetected unless examined by a gemologist. This group of diamonds is rarest and the most expensive one. Such diamonds are best mounted on white gold or platinum. Yellow gold or other coloured settings are generally avoided as they may take away from the luminous beauty of this category of diamonds. 

Nearly Colourless (G, H, I, J):  

This colour grade displays nearly no colour. The diamonds in this category appear colourless to the naked eye. If you are looking for a diamond to mount in platinum or white gold, go for G or H colour graded stones. For yellow gold mounts, you can opt for I or J graded diamonds. The diamonds of this group are less expensive than the D-F group and are often used as the central stones in rings. 

Faint Colour (K, L, M):  

Diamonds in this colour grade possess a slight tint of yellow that can be seen even with the naked eye. Due to this, diamonds of this group are not as desirable as the two previous groups. They are also not as rare or as expensive as the other two groups mentioned above. Diamonds belonging to this group can be set in yellow gold mounts for an appealing look. 

Very Light Colour (N, O, P, Q, R):  

This group of diamonds has visible colour. Often the colour is a tint of yellow or brown. There is very little demand for such diamonds and they are available at a much low price range. Most reputed jewellers avoid dealing in this category of diamonds for making ornaments. 

Light Colour (S-Z):  

The diamonds belonging to this colour grade exhibit easily noticeable yellow or brown tint. As they are placed at the low end of the colour grade, they are among the least expensive diamonds. Such diamonds are usually not considered for making ornaments. 

Sign up now to become a KHIMJI SELECT Member

KHIMJI SELECT is a loyalty program which allows you to earn and redeem reward points and get exclusive privileges for your every purchase.

*Will be used in accordance with ourPrivacy Policy

Scroll To Top